2007: Year of the High Five

Hi Five!My friend and I have decided upon something over the last few days: 2007 should be the official year of the high-five. Low fives are to be considered a reasonable substitute.

One of my resolutions this year is to high-five as much as possible. I’ve stopped counting, but I’m pretty sure I’ve exceeded 50 by now.

Need to shake hands? That could be a high-five! Just got that big promotion? Definititely a high-five. Bus arrives on time? Totally a high-five. High-five that guy you stand next to every morning and make a new friend!

I think of hitting links as a kind of high five.

High fiving could be the bridge that spans the gaps between people in this lonely world we live in. If high fiving a total stranger would help save the world, would you do it? Would you have the courage? Do you have the right stuff? Are you drunk in any way? That makes it easier to avoid the weird look.

We’ve been putting it into practice and it works

Remember – your globe needs you

3 Responses to “2007: Year of the High Five”


  1. 1 Diana 7 January, 2007 at 7:28 am

    You are so right. The high five and the year of pride go hand in hand. I love your resolution, too. High-fiving is a sign of pride in an accomplishment and a signal that it’s done.

    Cheerio for now !

    Diana

  2. 2 Diana 7 January, 2007 at 7:29 am

    ps I love your blog and the ideas you write about.
    thx for writing and keeping the internet interesting.

  3. 3 static merchant 7 January, 2007 at 2:35 pm

    you are most welcome. I must admit I struggle for inspiration sometimes, but I have some crazy friends so that helps.

    If you think I’m funny, try East Village Idiot…


Leave a Reply

