Avian Fun

For some reason (perhaps the mechanical engineer in me) I like jet engines. A lot.

Here are two reasons why I like them, and at least two other people out there don’t:

PS: I’ve not been Dead, just very busy with Grease. Thankyou for your concern.

5 Responses to “Avian Fun”


  1. 1 Metro 23 March, 2007 at 5:08 am

    I’d seen the first video before, but never with the backstory. The second is new to me, but wicked cool.

    I used to work on a military airstrip. We had a cabinet dedicated to “Foreign Object Damage” or “FOD”. It contained curios found on the taxiway and runways, and some retrieved from jet engines after the damage was done. These last included a stuffed Canada Goose (which was stuffed [in both senses of the word] after its encounter with a Tutor aircraft), several nuts and bolts, and a six-foot pry bar with a lot of notches in it.

    Oh–and you might enjoy The Oops List. Somewhere on that site is a terrific pic of what happens when you forget to stop pressurizing the a/c during the tight-seal test.

    And this especially might appeal: http://www.micom.net/oops/oops2.jpg

  2. 2 Metro 23 March, 2007 at 5:09 am

    Dammit … WP didn’t like my links. Check your spam box, eh?

  3. 3 Envelope Filter 23 March, 2007 at 11:25 am

    Combine the two:

    “Tower, there’s a Buick in my engine…”

    I bet it’s happened…

  4. 4 nursemyra 25 March, 2007 at 3:11 pm

    *oops* sorry.

    just realised my comment to this ended up on the ‘avenue jew’ post instead. I get confused by the way your comments link is at the top instead of the top.

  5. 5 Envelope Filter 26 March, 2007 at 3:17 pm

    It’s cool, I figured it out all by myself.


Leave a Reply

