Mechanics of The World – Magic 8 Ball

8ball.jpgBehold the Magic 8 Ball!

If you’re like me, you like pulling things to pieces to find out how they tick. Chances are that none of you are like me, because I’m a snowflake, precious and rare, with a frightening interest in mechanical things. One might blame the piles of lego I was bought as a child. Why else would I have become a mechanical engineer? Actually the truth is that that was mostly accidental, but in a very fortunate way.

Luckily, the advent of the internet (another mechanical device, constructed from tubes only a few microns across – you may be familiar with it) has provided all kinds of information on the insides of various things, meaning I no longer need to dissect them myself! This has saved me a lot of time and expense, and possibly prevented me sticking a fork in my toaster, particularly after seeing this, at an inopportune moment.

Picked this up off fark: the inner workings of the Magic 8 Ball! Where is your ironic wit now?!

Here’s an idea for a comments post: most ironic/funniest 8 ball prediction. Points go up the more general the sentence.

As a side note, I subscribe to the school of thought that says that if something is broken, and you pull it to pieces trying to fix it, it is no less broken than it used to be. The chances of you fixing it have definitely improved though, and if you irretriveably break it, you just made the decision to get a new one sooner and more decisively. This means you are more of a man (or tomboyish girl – not that there’s anything wrong with that, I dig freckles). This is the Zen of homehandymanship.

Man, did that go off on a tangent.

8 ball line: “Answer hazy, have you been drinking? – Is that a mallet?”

Beat it in the comments.

0 Responses to “Mechanics of The World – Magic 8 Ball”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

