A friendly dig in the ribs

swagman.jpgThis one’s for Archie. Since ANZAC day is coming up next week, I thought a bit of trans-tasman sledging might be in order. Also, I have no doubt whatsoever of New Zealand’s impending victory at the Cricket World Cup.

As a red blooded Kiwi, I’ve been taking the piss out of my Antipodean neighbours across the ditch for as long as I can recall. In Archie’s case there is not just a ditch in the way, but miles upon miles of burning empty sand too. Unfortunately I’m a lot more frightened of Sydney-siders than the likes of curmudgeons such as him, and they’re a lot closer. I’d be quite happy if some deity would simply flip the whole continent over across its North-South axis.

My dad originally settled in Perth on emigrating from Scotland in the 70s. Maybe that has something to do with it.

Anyway, I felt like lightening the mood after the unusually epic and heavy post that precedes this one, so here’s  something I stumbled across in my travels in the tubes.

3 Responses to “A friendly dig in the ribs”


  1. 1 raincoaster 20 April, 2007 at 12:37 am

    Seriously, that’s the weirdest national anthem in the world. Really it is.

  2. 2 Envelope Filter 20 April, 2007 at 12:55 am

    Oooh. That’s a good one rain.
    He won’t like that one little bit.

  3. 3 Vanessa 9 May, 2007 at 9:18 pm

    I’m all for flipping the continent. What a spiffing idea. It costs way too much to fly to NZ from Perth as it stands and we’d be closer to the Pacific Islands, too… which would be a rather nice alternative to bloody Bali.

    (she’s from Perth.. shh)

    It ain’t the national anthem, but I love that translation…


Leave a Reply

