Sibling Tornado

My brother just blew through.

He’s a snowboard instructor. He spends half the year in the US and half in Wanaka (near Queenstown). Being the only member of my family with a fixed abode in New Zealand right now, I was only too pleased to be able to offer accommodation to him and his girlfriend. They arrived friday morning, 24hrs late after their plane shredded an engine taking off from LA, and left yesterday. It was an Australian plane, so not surprising really. First underarm bowling, now this. Figures.

I was only able to give them a mattress on the floor of my spare room (office, kinda, where I am now sitting). This was fine with them, but got in the way of my internet activities, as this is where my internet connection lives. No matter.

It’s quite the shock to see him really – I see him probably twice a year, maybe three times, for no more than a week each time. He’s been finally growing up…but is still an unwashed little slacker in the nicest possible way. They took over my whole house between themselves and all their luggage, filling my entire lounge with bags. Quite a feat.

I might get down to the South Island for some skiing later in the year when there’s some snow, but otherwise won’t see him again for another six months.

I hope they get a good dump of snow this year…

5 Responses to “Sibling Tornado”


  1. 1 Metro 12 May, 2007 at 7:29 am

    Whoda heck is Peter Hillier? Clearly he hasn’t got the brains the FSM gave a brass doorknob.

    I assume that the Immis feel they’re protecting the gene pool from clogs in the drain.

  2. 2 Envelope Filter 12 May, 2007 at 5:30 pm

    TV personality, comic.

    He’s being funny. If you’d ever met our PM this would be quite understandable.

  3. 3 Metro 15 May, 2007 at 8:00 am

    Whoda heck is Metro? Clearly he hasn’t got the brains the FSM gave a brass doorknob.

    Posting comments below the wrong post and all.

  4. 4 Envelope Filter 15 May, 2007 at 9:15 am

    Other people have the same problem too. Must be something to do with me doing things backward or something.

    I blame the coriolis effect.

  5. 5 Thottejem 28 October, 2008 at 10:48 am

    Sounds like a very interesting concept! Do you have a sense of wonder about my silly christianity I have a nice joke for you) What kind of shoes do lazy people wear? Loafers.


Leave a Reply

