Pimp my APC

tank4.jpgWANT!

Like a limo, only not.

This APC is availible for hire if you want to go to town in style! Seats 8, plus three crew and comes complete with a champagne filled fridge in the back. I’m a tad dissapointed that it doesn’t have chrome spinners fitted but, on balance, it’s still pimp.

Seems to have no weaponry. How will they debus under fire from the club door? Seems like a shortfall. Maybe they could lob champagne bottles from the crew commander’s hatch. Or just drive through the door and debus directly onto the dance floor. That gets my vote, except the vehicle may suddenly be supporting the floor above and therefore difficult to drive home in.

The fridge is a nice touch, though in Waiouru it’s generally much harder to heat things up than keep things cool, so I can see why they’ve never fitted such a thing to our APCs. Actually, having said that, it gets bloody hot in the back of those things and the new LAV IIIs have AC for that reason. One up on the Aussies there! And they live in a hotter place. Suckers. The LAVs are quite pimp.

Some kiwis may recall a few years back when a couple of soldiers borrowed an M113 APC (since retired from service, uncomfortable bastards of things that they were) and drove it to town. I seem to recall they were boozed to start with, got it to town, continued getting boozed, forgot about it, and got a cab home. The army was apparently phoned by the owner of the bar it was left outside the following morning with a message going something like “I think I may have something belonging to you…” I can’t recall which camp (I seem to recall it being Linton, outside Palmerston North) and I don’t remember if the soldiers in question were actually caught (though I think they were). I know it made the papers, but a bit before the ubiquitous time of google. Details may be up somewhere, but a quick search to refresh my memory yields nothing.

I did hear a great story of the whole unit being lined up and the culprits ordered to step forward, whereupon the whole unit stepped up with the whole “I am Spartacus” motive. Not sure if that one is true. I like to think it is.

2 Responses to “Pimp my APC”


  1. 1 raincoaster 22 August, 2007 at 2:17 am

    Yeah, but what kinda subwoofers does it have?


Leave a Reply

