Make the world a Library

It has come to my attention that an enterprising bunch called BookCrossing is attempting to turn the world into a library.

There are many reasons this should happen, including encouraging the proliferation of hot librarians, but they’re using a particularly novel mechanism:

Release books into the wild!

While they may not meet other nice books and spawn, books will have interesting journeys and inspire many random people.  Books have a code number added by sticker and are simply left in a public space. People can log when they have found or released a book, and the website tracks them. I love this kind of idea.

More info can be found at http://www.bookcrossing.com

There are presently 188 books at large in New Zealand. I encourage there to be more!

6 Responses to “Make the world a Library”


  1. 1 raincoaster 5 September, 2007 at 6:11 pm

    I’d love to see the offspring of a cross between Dostoyevsky and Jackie Collins.

  2. 2 Garbagle 7 September, 2007 at 3:28 am

    Well this could sort out my reoccurring problem of too many books and not enough bookcase space!

  3. 3 Envelope Filter 7 September, 2007 at 10:06 am

    Ok, rain – that’s a truly frightening concept. Well done, I expected no less from you.

    G – I can’t picture you ever releasing a book from your clutches. Ever. Since you are an international woman of mistery these days maybe you can find some though! I bet there’s a lot of them in the UK.

  4. 4 Metro 7 September, 2007 at 11:02 am

    What manner of mad meme is this?

    Mme Metro discovered bookcrossing a couple of years ago. This very morning she came to me and asked whether I’d mind if she spent $30 on their sticker package.

    When I said “Yes I damn well would–you could print those off at home. In fact you did just that when first you spotted them, so why do you need them now?”

    “Okay,” she replied sunnily, apparently missing the point, “I’ll just get the $20 package.”

    When I finished conniptioning she had bought the $30 set.

    “Oh,” she said sweetly as we were walking into town for work, “Did I tell you that was $30 US?”

    –All for something any ethical person could have set up with a Google group. $30 for stickers–Feh.

    But I love the concept.

  5. 5 raincoaster 9 September, 2007 at 12:33 am

    Hey, Madame Metro is a quintillionaire now that she works for The Man, so let her spend.

  6. 6 mobile design 27 September, 2013 at 4:09 pm

    This post provides clear idea for the new viewers of blogging, that truly how to do blogging and site-building.


Leave a Reply

