The Wheel Stops Spinning

Robert Jordan, author of The Wheel of Time, has passed away of a rare blood disorder.

Everyone I have ever met that has read fantasy has read at least one of the Wheel of Time series. Few have read less than all of them. A great number of them have expressed frustration that they don’t actually like the books all that much, but the story has hooked them years ago, and now they need closure. That’s the mark of an excellent storyteller.

It seems especially cruel that Mr Jordan should die before managing to complete the 12th and final book of the series.  Truly the work of a lifetime, and of epic proportions.

I think it is likely that the 12th book will still make it to print. His death was not sudden, and he will have ensured that his notes were sufficient for the book to be finished. His wife was his editor, and I am sure she will want to see the series completed in his memory. Certainly it wouldn’t be the first epic series to continue after the death of its author, the most notable example that comes to mind being Dune.

Hopefully the panic from fans will be minor…

3 Responses to “The Wheel Stops Spinning”


  1. 1 archiearchive FCD 20 September, 2007 at 9:26 pm

    I missed this information. I have book 11 halfway down my TBR pile. He survived cancer after book 5. I will finish the series although it is nowhere near my favourite set of books and requires determination to get through. Still, it is sad to hear of an author dying before he ends his work.

  2. 2 Garbagle 21 September, 2007 at 1:18 am

    I happen to be one of those people horribly hooked on his books and so deeply regret the passing of a great storyteller. Few books get me so involved that I will argue minor plotpoints for hours with other suitably hooked fans.

    More than that its sad that a man who has struggled with a disease for so long and with such fighting spirit has passed on.

  3. 3 Envelope Filter 24 September, 2007 at 12:33 pm

    Sad indeed. You’re right, it requires a certain amount of determination to get through. I try and avoid the arguments about minor plotpoints. I’m not sure I’m willing to risk whole limbs in the process.

    I could almost sense the global panic when this news broke. Will be interesting to finally read the last book when it eventuates.


Leave a Reply

